Here is your invitation to the Masters 2017 as per details hereunder


The ten qualified players are invited to confirm their participation to the Masters 2017 at  latest 4th March 2017 (In case the MCF receives no confirmation by deadline date the qualified player will forfeit his place and the MCF reserves the right to replace him by the stand-by  players)

Here are the tournament details

Rounds- 9 Rounds round robin

Players- Ten ( Roy  Phillips ,Deevarajan Chinasamy, Patrick  Marie  ,Hoolan  Naipal, Antoine  Goorsahye, Nuvin Dussoye, Christophe  Chan, Salhi Zouhair, Nadarajen Vencatasawmy, Sanju Backory)

Stand-By Players 1. Ashwin Jotee 2. Righen Sawmynaden in that order as Jotee placed 6th in the First Masters Qualifier and Righen 7th in the Second Masters Qualifier

Time Control 70 minutes per player + 30 seconds increment per move  as from Move 1

Venue- Eddie Norton , Rose Hill on Saturdays and Monique Rayeroux Centre ,Cite de Rosnay , Beau Bassin on Sundays

Start- 15.00 hrs on Saturdays and 8.30 hrs  and 13.00 hrs on Sundays (2 Rounds)

Dates – Saturdays 18,25 March and 1 April 2017

                Sundays-19,26 March 2017 and 2 April 2017

Entry Fee –Rs 500-

Prizes -1st Rs 1500 + trophy 2nd Rs 1000- 3rd Rs 500- ( Also the winner will be selected as official Mauritius player to the forthcoming 4.3 Zonal  championship to be held in Gaborone (Botswana)  from 8 to 17 April 2017,accommodation on full board  but double sharing will be provided to him. However the FIDE 70 Euros participating fee and the tournament 100 Euros entry fee + air travel will be at his charge. Note that last year’s winner of the Masters Patrick Li Ying has been selected to be the official player at the African Individual Championship  to be held at Agadir (Morocco) and his conditions of participation will be the same as  above)

Tie Break as follows - Sum of Opponent Scores(Sonneborn Berger),  2nd tie break will be on personal score and third tie break number of wins

First Four players will be seeded for Masters 2018

FIDE Rated Tournament

Players who are more than 30 minutes late will be forfeited

Arbiter FA Ronald Raimbert

FIDE rules apply


Players are requested to be at the Coromandel Community Centre at 16.45 hrs on Saturday 11th March 2017 to take part in the draw for numbers that will be allocated to them for the tournament.

The pairings for the 9 rounds


1-10, 2-9, 3-8, 4-7 ,5-6 (Rd1)

10-6, 7-5 ,8-4, 9-3, 1-2 (Rd2)

2-10, 3-1, 4-9, 5-8, 6-7 (Rd3)

10-7, 8-6, 9-5, 1-4, 2-3 (Rd4)

3-10, 4-2, 5-1, 6-9, 7-8 (Rd5)

10-8, 9-7, 1-6, 2-5, 3-4 (Rd6)

4-10, 5-3, 6-2, 7-1, 8-9 (Rd7)

10-9, 1-8, 2-7, 3-6, 4-5 (Rd8)

5-10, 6-4, 7-3, 8-2, 9-1 (Rd9)


REGISTERED PLAYERS-1.Roy PHILLIPS 2.Antoine GOORSAHYE3.Deevarajan CHINASAMY 4.Patrick MARIE 5.Salhi ZOUHAIER 6. Sanju BACKORY 7. Christophe CHAN 8. Hoolan NAIPAL 9. Nadarajen VENCATASAWMY 10.Nuvin DUSSOYE